The share function on custom reports is a little confusing. Here are some things that we've learned about Sharing Custom Reports.
- The access list doesn't update automatically - If the user doesn't exist in the database when you first create and share the report, they won't see it, because they technically didn't exist.
- The report changes don't update automatically - If you've made a change to the report and save, the shared report doesn't automatically update. You will need to create the share again.
- If you create the share again, the users get a second version saved. The first one isn't overwritten.
- You can only share customized reports. if the report is a out of the box report in QBO, you can't share it so that your client only needs to look under the My Custom Reports section.
- You do have the ability to share with no one, share with all, or just share with users within your own firm.